Geeky About Books

Book Lovers Café

The Immortalist by Scott Britz 

Rating: 4.8/5

SciFi Thriller


Have you ever read a book where your toes curled, your heart palpitated, your head buzzed and even forgot to eat? Well, this book did just that to me! 

The main character Dr. Cricket Rensselaer Wright, is smart as a whip, as in she a scientist, published countless articles and is a doctor with the CDC. And let’s not forget, she’s beautiful and successful in a man’s world.

Reading this book reminds me of the series ‘The Strain’ so sci fi fans and die hards, here is a book that will get your mind rolling.

Oh, and you need to be prepared of how Zombie like you’ll be during and after finishing the book! Me for example, I haven’t read a book for close to month after, that’s how intense this book was!😱😱

For details specific to how the story was, check out Goodreads book summary:

Goodreads Rating: 3.3 (erm.. who r these people that gave it such a low rating?😳. Like really?)

For fans of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton comes a medical thriller that melds cutting-edge science with ripped-from-the-headlines terror. What happens when a new immortality drug leads to an explosive outbreak of a deadly virus that, if not contained, could wipe out humanity once and for all?

World-renowned virologist Dr. Cricket Rensselaer-Wright abruptly abandoned her research in Africa after watching her colleague die tragically from the Ebola virus. When she returns to the States to reunite with her teenage daughter Emmy, her plans are sidetracked. No sooner does she set foot on the campus of Acadia Springs—the research institute where she grew up and Emmy now lives—than her onetime mentor Charles Gifford announces his discovery of the Methuselah Vector, a gene therapy agent that can confer immortality on a patient after a single injection.

Gifford’s air of triumph is marred when a young woman on campus dies suddenly from a horrific viral infection, eerily similar to the Ebola that drove Cricket out of Africa. Despite Cricket’s pleas to slow down the rollout of the Vector and run more tests, Gifford refuses. And when the unthinkable happens—when Emmy falls ill with the same mysterious disease—Cricket is forced to take matters into her own hands. But is it already too late?

Gifford will stop at nothing to release the Vector into the world. Mobs are clamoring for it. Cricket has only a few hours to find a cure for Emmy, and to convince the public that Gifford’s quest for eternal life may cost the very lives he hopes to save. 

Goodreads link >>

Advertisements

About Faith Wanyi

I love blogging, reading, DIY projects and basically having lots of fun :)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2017 by in syfy, thriller, Top Books of the month and tagged , .
Data Analytics & R

Broaden your Horizon

Libro Illustrato by Kyra

There are always two people in every picture, the photographer and the viewer. Ansel Adams 1902-1984

Millionaire's Digest

Millionaire's Digest - Share your passions, discover what others are sharing, and connect with new friends who are passionate about the same things as you are!

Tay LaRoi

Site and blog of fantasy writer, Tay LaRoi

Crafting Your Novel

A writer's journey

The Little Southern Girl

"I'm Not Telling You It's Gooing To Be Easy, I'm Telling You It's Going To Be Worth It." - Art Williams

Ramblings of a Rural Housewife

A glimpse into the beautiful mess I call my life.

Lacey Does Lit

Here's to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

bothsidesoftheveil

Just a Glimpse into My Dark Mind.

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

My Beautiful Bookish World

Welcome to my bookish world.

A Slice of Ky

Books & other pieces of life

buried in a bookshelf

book reviews, recommendations, and more!

What Shes Reading

"Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them." - Lemony Snicket

%d bloggers like this: